comment 0

Remembering late Red Garland (May 13, 1923 – April 23, 1984): Red Garland – “GROOVY” [full album]

Here is our Weekend Jazz Show on Asian Affairs. No jazz pianist played ballads and the blues any better than Red Garland. Miles Davis was privileged to have Red in his rhythm section during Miles’ golden era. I play jazz piano, and Red Garland is a major influence on my playing. I hope you enjoy our weekend show. If you do, and especially if you enjoy reading international thrillers, then why not follow our blog. Thanks.

Red Garland and his trio, released in 1957 on Prestige Records.

1/C-Jam Blues 00:00
2/Gone Again 08:19
3/Will You Still Be Mine? 15:00
4/Willow Weep for Me 19:42
5/What Can I Say After I Say I’m Sorry? 29:18
6/Hey Now 36:29

Red Garland – piano Paul Chambers – bass Art Taylor – drums
Category

View original post

Filed under: Jazz, Novel, Thriller

About the Author

Posted by

I was born in Los Angeles and grew up in Southern California. I served aboard submarines in the United States Navy. I have lived in the Philippines, Singapore, Malaysia and Bali, Indonesia. During my period living in Southeast Asia I ran an export company and played throughout the region as a jazz musician. My debut novel, China Sea, portrays a plot and settings derived from my experience.

Leave a Reply

