comment 0

The Weekend Jazz Show

My all time favorite jazz pianist is Wynton Kelly. Once while he was playing with Miles Davis, Miles was heard to say , “I wish I could swing like that.” True story. Wynton always sounded happy as he played. Like he was playing for dancing. Tragically he died at the young age of 39 of epilepsy.

Here’s an excerpt from my novel, CHINA SEA (to be published in July 2015).

Late that afternoon and early evening, I puttered around the house wearing my comfortable Indonesian sarong, the one I’d bought from the Balinese vendor at Kuta Beach. I took a swim in the pool and finished a beer in the garden before sunset. Then I practiced playing my new trumpet for an hour. To get me in the right groove, I played a recording by Wynton Kelly, my favorite jazz pianist, as I showered and got casually dressed. I took off to find a restaurant in Ermita. And to set the stage.

Filed under: Jazz, Novel, Thriller

About the Author

Posted by

I was born in Los Angeles and grew up in Southern California. I served aboard submarines in the United States Navy. I have lived in the Philippines, Singapore, Malaysia and Bali, Indonesia. During my period living in Southeast Asia I ran an export company and played throughout the region as a jazz musician. My debut novel, China Sea, portrays a plot and settings derived from my experience.

Leave a Reply

